Restaurant Leftovers Makeover!

What do you do with restaurant leftovers? Or do you eat it all at the restaurant? I’m a small person, so half of a sit-down dinner is just about right for me. I take the other half home and anticipate the leftovers! Sometimes, I make over the rest of the food and turn into a dinner for two for David and me. Take a look:

These homemade croutons used to be leftover bread from a restaurant. Cubed,       brushed with olive oil, sprinkled with lemon pepper and toasted on a piece of foil in the toaster oven, these made a great addition to dinner.

I beefed up the risotto with extra cheese, milk, and chives, and it tasted great reheated!

Then the leftover half of a steak went into a small pot of vegetable soup with potatoes. The smokey flavor tasted just like the restaurant. This soup trick also works great for leftover burgers. It was yummy!

What do creative uses have you discovered for your restaurant leftovers?

4 thoughts on “Restaurant Leftovers Makeover!

  1. Wonderful ideas, Sarah! My kids usually gobble them up when we get home, but there are times when leftovers just sit in the frig. until they ~ “serve their time”. 🙂

    Btw, I love your photography!

  2. Oh Sarah, you make my heart smile! I have so missed you in the blog world. This is AWESOME! I hope to gain much wisdom from you in this area!
    Love you 🙂

  3. You should take pictures for cookbooks. You make all the food look so appealing and delicious! Or you should just do a cookbook with your own recipes and pictures. I would buy it:)

Leave a Reply

