Oh-So-Good Homemade Vanilla Yogurt

Sometimes I get these urges to get in touch with my inner pioneer woman. Yesterday was one of those days. After a second trip to the strawberry fields, having put up another large amount of strawberries, inspiration struck to make homemade yogurt. I never thought making yogurt could be so easy. I made it in a crockpot! Discovering this recipe was like the day I was ten years old and found out that you can make cake from scratch. Suddenly the box mix was losing its luster.

As usual, I could not stick to the yogurt recipe I found online and made a number of changes. But the results were amazing and I was really, really happy with the way it turned out. Not too tangy, not too sweet . . . it tasted very much like the Stoneyfield vanilla yogurt I used as a starter.

Here’s the recipe for Crockpot Yogurt that I followed, and here are the changes I made:

I used one half gallon Smart Balance Low-Fat milk, whisking in 6 Tbsp Nido (whole powdered milk). (The reason I used Smart Balance milk is that the other week it was on sale 2/$5 and I had 10 $2 off coupons. For 50 cents a pop, I wanted to experiment.) About 4.5 hours after starting the yogurt, I whisked in 1 cup whole milk Stonyfield Farms vanilla yogurt, 1/2 cup sugar, 2 tsp vanilla extract, a tsp of unflavored Knox unflavored gelatin, and 1/4 of a vanilla bean, scraped. (I would add more vanilla bean next time, maybe the scrapings of a half bean.)

I started this recipe at 5:30 last evening and at 6:15 this morning, it was done.

I’m planning on straining part of this recipe to make Greek-style yogurt and also trying to make frozen strawberry yogurt from it. Um, um, good.

I encourage you to try this today! It is so much cheaper and just as tasty as the expensive organic yogurt in the store. I used the Nido and vanilla bean because that’s what I had on hand, but you don’t have to use it. You should experiment and see what you can do with what’s on hand—true pioneer woman style!

 

3 thoughts on “Oh-So-Good Homemade Vanilla Yogurt

  1. Your blog inspires me, Sarah! Thanks for sharing. I’ve got a batch of yogurt “cooking away” right now, thanks to you. The strawberry yogurt from last week was a hit as well…I think I’m hooked!

    • Hey, I’m so glad you enjoyed the recipe! I’ve been indulging in spoonfuls of the vanilla yogurt . . . I added a whole packet of unflavored gelatin to the most recent batch and it got a bit thicker than the first one. And the frozen yogurt has been so yummy too!

  2. Pingback: Breakfasting «

Leave a Reply

