Look Around You for Lovliness

It’s often hidden, cloaked in the ordinary.

Like a bundle of roses from Walmart, paired with a chipped vintage milkbottle.

Or maybe loveliness is waiting to be discovered in a musty thrift shop, like this treasured clay bowl. I’ve never been happier about spending $3.

But of course what really makes Loveliness, is the fact that my Dearest surprised me with the roses, just because.

Or that my brother went out with a flashlight onto the schoolgrounds where he was employed and gathered these pecans for me. (I’m not sure if I actually want to know the whole story, but his motive was kind, even if his methods were dubious.)

That is the source of all the loveliness, of course, the love gathered up in armfuls of roses or handfuls of “foraged” pecans.

I hope I take the time to notice it on a daily basis.

Leave a Reply

